Skip to content
Isles of Scilly Counts — Isles of Scilly, in numbers.Local help →

Isles of Scilly, in numbers

2,299 people call Isles of Scilly home.

Isles of Scilly council area. Mid-2025. Every figure carries its own date.

The islands have a distinct council and small populations, so missing or suppressed figures are not treated as zero. Housing land, joined-up care and the Town Hall’s cultural reuse are followed separately, with St Mary’s project locations clearly identified.

The short version

Population over time

1996 to 2025

Isles of Scilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1996 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,863 people in 1996; 2,299 people in 2025. 23.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Full history context

The population rose from 1,863 to 2,299 between 1996 and 2025.

2024 to 2025: 84 less people (3.5% lower).

This counts the whole council area. Growth alone does not establish overcrowding or a shortfall in services.

Data table and workings

All ages, both sexes, usual residents. Source series rebased to the 2021/2022 censuses; latest revisions replace older estimates.

These estimates cover the whole authority, including any surrounding towns and countryside.

Historical boundaries/revisions follow the source series; null years are not zero.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population over time — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19961,863
19971,908
19981,942
19992,025
20002,100
20012,140
20022,170
20032,155
20042,210
20052,210
20062,264
20072,293
20082,333
20092,251
20102,228
20112,224
20122,249
20132,214
20142,188
20152,238
20162,236
20172,170
20182,166
20192,098
20202,030
20212,271
20222,352
20232,465
20242,383
20252,299
Source →

People living in the area

2,299

Mid-2025 · Isles of Scilly council area

Show the workings

Published mid-year estimate for the whole local authority area. This is not automatically the population of the named city settlement.

All usual residents

Source and method →
Compare nearby places and England →

Look beneath the average

Homes rented privately

30.7% to 82.2%

Homes rented privately ranged from 30.7% in St Mary's to 82.2% in Tresco — a gap of 51.5 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 4 of 5 current wards with comparable figures.

A larger private-rented sector changes the mix of housing advice, enforcement and tenant support needed. It does not tell us whether individual homes are affordable or safe.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Homes rented privately · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
St Mary's30.7%228743
St Martin's37%2054
Bryher51.4%3772
Tresco82.2%6073
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People reporting bad or very bad health

1.3% to 4.8%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 1.3% in Tresco to 4.8% in St Mary's — a gap of 3.4 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 4 of 5 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Tresco1.3%2152
St Martin's1.5%2135
Bryher2.3%4174
St Mary's4.8%761,595
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

8.5% to 30.5%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 8.5% in Tresco to 30.5% in St Mary's — a gap of 22 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 4 of 5 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Tresco8.5%13153
Bryher25%44176
St Martin's26.1%35134
St Mary's30.5%4861,594
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →
Explore all 5 wards →

What could change things?

The action plan connects local evidence to proposed next steps. Announced projects and proposed responses are shown separately.

strength

Use the new care setting to keep support closer to home

The integrated facility has formally opened.

Joined-up care can reduce avoidable travel and disruption.

Evidence

What could help →

weakness

Turn serviced plots into suitable homes

Ennor Farm responds to limited affordable self-build land.

Site preparation is only one part of housing delivery.

Evidence

What could help →

opportunity

Make the restored Town Hall useful throughout the year

The museum project is intended to support culture and community activity.

Residents should benefit beyond the visitor season.

Evidence 1 · Evidence 2

What could help →
Read the action plan →

Local work to follow

St Mary’s

Isles of Scilly Health and Care Partnership

An integrated hospital and care-home facility brings services together.

Build completed; formally opened May 2026 · evidence dated 2026-05-22

Responsible body: Council and NHS partners

What the source says: Opening is confirmed; specific service availability should be checked with the provider.

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Health and care facility formal opening →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Use the new care setting to keep support closer to home →

Plan construction around island logistics →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

North of Old Town, St Mary’s

Ennor Farm serviced housing plots

Access and drainage work is preparing self-build and custom-build plots.

Groundworks began May 2026 · evidence dated 2026-05-07

Responsible body: Council of the Isles of Scilly

What the source says: 12 serviced plots are intended; groundworks are not completed homes.

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Ennor Farm groundworks begin →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Turn serviced plots into suitable homes →

Plan construction around island logistics →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Town Hall, St Mary’s

Cultural Centre and Museum

The Town Hall is being restored and extended for cultural and museum use.

Construction started 2024; phased 2026–2027 opening forecast in December 2025 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Council and Isles of Scilly Museum Association

What the source says: No completed opening is inferred from the forecast. The exact publication day is not stated in the source title.

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Cultural Centre and Museum programme update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Make the restored Town Hall useful throughout the year →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →
All reviewed projects →

What this local evidence covers

3 reviewed plans and projects

2 have a source-dated stage; 0 have some funding evidence; 0 have some cost evidence. These counts do not prove that funding or costs are complete.

Check each project →

0 verified ward links

Project locations cannot be treated as a map of who benefits. Each record explains any verified ward association.

Read the sources and limits →
What is still missing

The reviewed local schemes are a selected evidence collection, not a complete council capital programme.

Current service capacity, incomes, waiting lists, school demand and project outcomes need additional verified local evidence before firm claims can be made.

Selected local projects, not the complete council programme. Project status is the dated source position; a planned opening date does not prove completion.

Action steps are UK Facts proposals for scrutiny and delivery, not adopted council promises or funded commitments.

Project locations do not establish ward-wide impact. Missing cost or funding means unverified, not zero.

Traceable sources and calculations support review; this is not independent AQuA Book assurance or certification.