Skip to content
Isles of Scilly Counts — Isles of Scilly, in numbers.Local help →

Isles of Scilly, in numbers

People and living standards

Isles of Scilly council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Isles of Scilly council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 2,009 in 1991 to 2,299 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Isles of Scilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,863 people in 1996; 2,299 people in 2025. 23.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19912,009
19921,983
19932,029
19941,977
19951,920
19961,863
19971,908
19981,942
19992,025
20002,100
20012,140
20022,170
20032,155
20042,210
20052,210
20062,264
20072,293
20082,333
20092,251
20102,228
20112,224
20122,249
20132,214
20142,188
20152,238
20162,236
20172,170
20182,166
20192,098
20202,030
20212,271
20222,352
20232,465
20242,383
20252,299
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Isles of Scilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 334 people in 1996; 314 people in 2025. 6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991389
1992378
1993389
1994373
1995361
1996334
1997334
1998347
1999331
2000328
2001355
2002366
2003357
2004371
2005354
2006334
2007346
2008353
2009342
2010340
2011343
2012339
2013337
2014332
2015340
2016333
2017312
2018310
2019294
2020288
2021328
2022335
2023327
2024319
2025314
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Isles of Scilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,153 people in 1996; 1,369 people in 2025. 18.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19911,286
19921,265
19931,293
19941,252
19951,192
19961,153
19971,189
19981,208
19991,294
20001,374
20011,380
20021,385
20031,390
20041,435
20051,426
20061,500
20071,507
20081,520
20091,439
20101,396
20111,366
20121,362
20131,319
20141,281
20151,323
20161,318
20171,274
20181,259
20191,216
20201,140
20211,347
20221,398
20231,499
20241,459
20251,369
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Isles of Scilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 376 people in 1996; 616 people in 2025. 63.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991334
1992340
1993347
1994352
1995367
1996376
1997385
1998387
1999400
2000398
2001405
2002419
2003408
2004404
2005430
2006430
2007440
2008460
2009470
2010492
2011515
2012548
2013558
2014575
2015575
2016585
2017584
2018597
2019588
2020602
2021596
2022619
2023639
2024605
2025616
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 2,055 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Isles of Scilly · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh60.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African40.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups231.1%
White2,00497.5%
Other ethnic group180.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 2,203 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Isles of Scilly · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White2,17798.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups180.8%
Asian/Asian British20.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British20.1%
Other ethnic group40.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 2,150 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Isles of Scilly · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White2,14499.7%
Mixed60.3%
Asian/Asian British00%
Black/Black British00%
Chinese/Other00%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Isles of Scilly council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,310 per person in 1997; £24,127 per person in 2024. 96% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,310
199812,588
199912,148
200012,494
200112,369
200212,598
200313,197
200412,604
200512,791
200614,092
200713,251
200813,085
200914,827
201015,422
201116,095
201216,104
201316,005
201416,190
201516,828
201617,427
201719,048
201819,945
201923,709
202025,075
202123,094
202222,954
202323,498
202424,127
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Isles of Scilly council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16% in 1997; -7.1% in 2024. 23.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Isles of Scilly council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199716
199816.3
19997.4
20005
20010
2002-0.4
20031.2
2004-7.1
2005-9
2006-3.8
2007-13.7
2008-16.9
2009-7.4
2010-4.5
2011-1.2
2012-4.7
2013-8.6
2014-10.5
2015-11.5
2016-9.5
2017-3.3
2018-2.3
201912.5
202019.5
20215.7
20220
2023-3.9
2024-7.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

64.4%

21 March 2021 · Isles of Scilly council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.5%

21 March 2021 · Isles of Scilly council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.3%

21 March 2021 · Isles of Scilly council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Isles of Scilly council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.